Summer Classics Verano Arm Chair Wins ICFA 2012 Design Excellence Award

Download PDF

ICFA Announces 2012 Award Winners
– September 24, 2012
Chicago – The International Casual Furnishings Association (ICFA) honored top retailers, manufacturers, representatives and designers this week during two gala award celebrations slated during the International Casual Furniture and Accessories Market here.

Hundreds gathered at the beautiful Ballroom of the School of the Art Institute of Chicago on Friday, Sept. 21, to spotlight top product designs, recognize manufacturing excellence and honor an outstanding sales representative.

Then, ICFA members and their guests assembled again on Saturday, Sept. 22, for the annual Apollo Awards dinner honoring the industry’s top retail stores and paying tribute to the year’s Lifetime Achievement honorees.

Awards presented Sept. 21-22 included:


Design Excellence Awards
The competition recognizes products for their overall design, as well as their marketability, innovation, color, construction and imaginative use of materials. Merchandise Mart Properties Inc. co-sponsors the awards. Category winners included:

Cast Metal: Martini Barstool by Kara Karpenske, Karmarron Design Inc., for The Veneman Group
Complementary Casual Products: Dansk Coffee Table by Philip Behrens for Gloster
Fabric: Crazy Horse Lemongrass by D2 for Outdura Corp.
Outdoor Lighting: Bamboo 120V LED Floor Lamp by Dale Klaus for Patio Living Concepts
Outdoor Rugs/Carpeting/Flooring: Violet Pebble Yellow Outdoor Rug from Sawgrass Mills by Hatteras Outdoors
Rattan/Wicker/Woven Materials: Flight Woven Adjustable Chaise by John Caldwell for Brown Jordan
Resin/Fiberglass: Adirondack MGP Chair by Bill Vanderminden for Telescope Casual Furniture
Shade Products: Plantation Max F-1 by Dougan Clarke for TUUCI
Tubular Materials: Kantan Lounge Chair from Brown Jordan
Wood Furniture: Solana Dip Down Lounger by Povl Eskildsen for Gloster Furniture
Wrought Iron/Wrought Aluminum: Verano Arm Chair from Summer Classics


 Click here to read the entire list of award recipients on the ICFA website.